Piano, 1992

Duration: fourteen minutes

Premiere: BLAA, Bogota, Colombia, 1994

Honorific mentions: Colcultura Awards, 1993; National Music Council, 1995



Radostina Petkova, Piano

Movements I, II, III and IV

Alba Triana’s first composition already shows some of her most characteristic musical traits. Despite the use of contemporary techniques, the four movements in Pentafonia show a marked intuition in their emotional writing, revealing the composer’s search for an intimate and personal expression. Especially the first three movements highlight a gestural writing, laying the expressive content on texture more than on individual notes or melodies.

Copyright © 2010 MusicArtWorks. All rights reserved.